Perfect Pikelets (Whole-wheat pancakes)

Perfect whole wheat pikelets

It’s 6am in the morning and I can’t sleep. I’m usually not an early riser (though I try hard to be), and the reason I’m up so early is because I can’t wait to cook my first recipe and write my first post!

Well, it’ll have to wait. I’m not about to skip my morning walk, you see. So after a drastically short morning walk, I am sitting crosslegged on the bed going through the myriad recipes in front of me. I am looking for something sweet, something easy, something filling, something pretty. At length I find the recipe for today – Pikelets.

The name sounds interesting enough. A little wikipedia, and I find that pikelets are the Australian version of pancakes. Luckily I have all the ingredients at hand. So three quarters of an hour later, I have a stack of yummy, fluffy pancakes or pikelets.

Here’s the recipe.

Whole-wheat Pikelets

yields 4 little pancakes
Serves: 1

Ingredients:

1 cup whole-wheat flour
1 egg
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp lemon rind/zest
1 tsp orange rind
1 tbsp sugar
1/2 cup milk
Butter,fruit preserves, jam to serve

Method:
1. Zest a lemon and orange using a peeler. (Take a moment to breathe in the tangy freshness.This is my favorite step)
2. Sift flour,baking powder and salt in a large bowl.
3. Add lemon and orange rind/zest, sugar. Stir in beaten egg and milk and mix to make a smooth batter.
4. Drop by spoonfuls on to a hot,well-greased,heavy frying pan. (I used 2-3 tbsps of batter for one pancake).Cook on steady medium heat till light brown. Flip and cook till golden brown and fluffy.
5. Dust with icing sugar and serve with dollops of butter and fruit preserve.(I used homemade chunky strawberry preserve).

One thought on “Perfect Pikelets (Whole-wheat pancakes)

  1. Hats off to your dedication rising early and preparing such a beautiful pancakes….
    Though i hardly eat sweet dishes but this delicacy has brought water in my mouth……

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

