Pork Coorgi

Dry Pork Coorgi

Vegetarians! I am so sorry. I really really meant to put up a veg recipe today. But one thing led to another and here I am with a recipe for Pork Coorgi . Let me tell you how it happened – Last weekend I hitched a ride home to Pune. I usually travel by train (and I don’t quite like it). So when a colleague was driving down to Pune, I ofcourse jumped at the chance and secured a wonderful unexpected visit home.

My welcome home dinner on Friday was lovely hot rice and pork vindaloo. Yumm. I ate it with such gusto. And thus began the pork craving. My mind’s eye immediately focussed on to a page from my grandma’s recipe book. I could very vividly see the words Pork Coorgi in her immaculate handwriting. And who can resist such a call. We do live to eat after all.

PS: My next recipe is definitely going to be for my vegetarian readers. Promise!

PPS: For those not familiar with the name, Coorg (Kodagu) is a picturesque city in Karnataka, famous for its tea and coffee plantations.

Here’s how to make some delicious dry pork, a la Coorg.

Dry Pork Coorgi

Serves: 2

Ingredients:

10 -12 medium sized pork pieces (most)
3 onions, finely chopped
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon mustard seeds
7 -8 black peppercorns
1 -2 teaspooons ginger-garlic paste
1 teaspoon turmeric
2 teaspoons white vinegar
salt to taste

Method:

1. Dry roast the cumin, and grind together with pepper, mustard seeds, turmeric and ginger-garlic paste.
2. Use this spice mix to marinate the pork pieces along with some salt. Make sure the pork has enough lean meat, as the fatty bits release a lot of oil.
3. Add the onions to the marinated pork and simmer on a low flame till it releases its juices. The pork should look slightly brown at this stage.
4. Transfer the pork to the pressure cooker, add a cupful of water and cook for 15 minutes.
5. Finally transfer the pork to a pan, add two teaspoones of vinegar and simmer for another 2 mins.
Serve as a side dish with chapatis, or rice.

One thought on “Pork Coorgi

  1. Wow great another mouth watering dish. I guess you keep coming to pune please let me know next time when you come to pune want to catch up……

    Like

Leave a Reply

