Easy-peasy Salties

Salties

It’s a bright Saturday morning and all I want to do is kick back with a good book and read. I recently got a lovely collector’s edition set of Anne of Green Gables and I cant wait to get started. Yes I know it’s a children’s book, but where else do you find happy endings these days! And I’m a happiness junkie.
I pick the first volume and read barely a chapter, when I realise that there’s some butter that’s been sitting in the freezer for a while now. I really must use it up. I also realise that it’s been a while since I updated my blog. So I riffle through my grandma’s recipe book and find the perfect recipe for today – Salties.
Crisp, brown, salty crackers they are!
It barely took me a quarter of an hour to mix the ingredients together, and another fifteen minutes to bake.
That leaves me free to get back to Anne of green gables with a plate of yummy salties. There’s a happy ending!

Salties – Crisp Crackers

yields 25 to 30 small squares

Ingredients:

6 tablespoons flour (maida)
1 egg
3 tablespoons butter
1 and a 1/2 teaspoon salt
1 and a 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

Method:
1. Put everything together and mix it in a large bowl, to form a dough.
2. Roll out the dough thinly with a rolling pin.
3. Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees and bake for 15 minutes or till golden brown.

2 thoughts on “Easy-peasy Salties

Leave a Reply

