My Blogger Recognition Award

I’m on a roll you guys. I have just received a ‘Blogger Recognition award’, bringing my tally up to three! Woohoo!
A million thanks to this lovely lady, Wandering Soul Go wander a bit with her, my fellow bloggers! An interesting tidbit about her – She learnt to put her foot in her mouth at an age of 3 months and has now mastered the art.So she says in her blog. She’s super fun and a treat to read!
Now for the rules!
There are too many rules, so I’m gonna shorten them. (Excuse my sass here)

  1.  Nominate your favourite blogs.(You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you)
  2. Write a post to show your award.
  3. Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  4. Give a piece of advice or two to new bloggers.
  5. Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.

My story:

A few months ago, I found my grandmother’s old cookbook. It is a yellowed notebook where she had written down all her favourite recipes. I decided to cook each of them, and post the recipes on a blog, as a way of preserving her legacy. At that time I called my blog ‘grandma’s cooking pot’. After a while, I realised that I wanted to write other stuff as well. That’s when my blog grew to a new section ‘Penseive’ (Alert: Harry Potter reference here).

I named it Sass and Sauce, because it incorporates my recipes (Sauce) and also my writing (Sass). Together I give you Sass and Sauce 🙂

My advice to new bloggers:

I am a newbie myself, and I don’t know how qualified I am to offer advice. But here goes,

  1. Tag, Tag and Tag some more – Adding tags relevant to your posts, makes it easy for people to find you on WP Reader, and on a Google search too. Also attractive pictures (preferably your own, or public domain) help.
  2. Sometimes you catch yourself narrating incidents/musings/ideas to yourself. (I don’t know if everybody does this). I think those make the best posts.

Now for my nominations. I would like to pass on the love to these cuties:

(Disclaimer: I hope none of my nominees are offended by my presumption in nominating them. They are all established bloggers, but they have given me many a good read and I’d like to share my appreciation.)

  1. The Introvert’s dictionary – Witty one line definitions for introverts and cats. Every single definition is roll-on-the-floor hilarious. What’s not to like.
  2. Jody’s World – In her own words, she’s a “you and me having a beer, laughing and swapping stories” kind of a writer. Love her writing!
  3. A drawer full of sticky notes – She gives us a “peek at the gerbil that runs inside her head”. If that’s not a catchy line, I don’t know what is. Her post ‘Discomposure of 1971’ is funny and touches the right chords too!
  4. The Meandering Matriarch – She had me at the name. The Matriarch gives a funny insight into the everyday happenings of her life. Another gem of a find for me.
  5. Tricky Emotions – Soul-searching poetry (some romantic, some with a hint of darkness) and travelogues of offbeat locations.

Toodle-O

~Ms. Sassy

6 thoughts on “My Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Just to let you (and those around you–forwarned is forarmed), you never outgrow the sassiness. At least I haven’t. Thanks so much for the nomination! I shall do my best to live up to it (or live it down, which sometimes happens… Sigh). Cheers,

    Like

Leave a Reply

